Accomplishments of 12 First Nations, Inuit and Métis individuals, will be honoured tonight in Calgary




Calgary host's the Indspire Awards tonight, an annual award ceremony that celebrates “the journey and accomplishments of 12 extraordinary First Nations, Inuit and Métis individuals.”

The award ceremony takes place at the Jubilee Auditorium. It will later be broadcast on APTN and CBc  on June 23.

Indspire, an Indigenous-led national Charity, awarded $14.2 million in scholarships to First Nations, Inuit and Métis students in 2017-18.

The awards show will be hosted by actress Michelle Thrush and Kaniehtiio Horn and include performances by Pat Vegas, PJ Vegas, The Northern Cree Singers, Jeremy Dutcher, Moe Clark, Derek Miller, Carsen Grey, Shakti Hayes, Beatrice Love and Wolf Saga.


2019 Indspire Award Recipients

Barbara HagerGrand Chief Ronald DerricksonJijuu Mary SnowshoeDr. Vianne TimmonsDr. Marlyn CookDianne CorbierePeter DinsdaleBrigette LacquetteBilly-Ray BelcourtKelly FraserJames LavallléeAtuat Akittirq.