Indigenous trailblazers to be honoured at Calgary awards ceremony



Albertans are in the mix of recipents at the 2019 Indspire Awards, the highest honour Canada’s Indigenous community bestows upon its people.

The awards ceremony will be held on Feb. 22 at the Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium in Calgary.

There are 12 First Nations, Inuit and Métis award recipients this year, including; 

Billy-Ray Belcourt, an award-winning poet from the Driftpile Cree Nation



Calgary resident Brigette Lacquette, the first First Nations hockey player to suit up for Canada’s women’s Olympic team, originally from the Cote First Nation in Saskatchewan.



Barbara Todd Hager, a writer, producer and director originally from the St. Paul des Métis Settlement, northeast of Edmonton


For information on all the winners, click here.