Alberta still divided on changing clocks

Elections Alberta said the rest of the results would be released on Oct. 26.

Alberta's referendum on adopting a year round daylight savings time was expected to come down to the wire.

Calgary (52 per cent), St. Albert (58 per cent) and Strathcona County (54 per cent) all voted to reject the question - that would see Albertans stop changing their clocks twice a year.

Some analysts across the province warned against changing Alberta’s system, one saying it would result in a 10 a.m. December sunrise for some.

Alberta's Premier Jason Kenney defended the motion by saying an Informal survey was insufficient consultation.

“The government thought that Albertans should have a chance to speak to this, given that so many of our neighbours in this part of North America will be moving to the same clock year round,” he said.



More from Calgary