Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards

12 students across Alberta were honoured for their dedication over the weekend - Supplied

“These amazing young people are proudly celebrating their cultures and sharing the best of who they are,” - Lt.-Gov. Lois Mitchell



12 First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their personal educational paths, were awarded over the weekend at the second annual Alberta School Boards Association’s award ceremony at Government house.

The Indigenous advisory circle and the ASBA received 174 nominations.  Recipients were spread out across the province from kindergarten to Grade 12.

The Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards are presented annually to First Nations, Métis, or Inuit student nominees who attend a school in Alberta, either operated by an ASBA member school board or a First Nations Education Authority.



  • Taytum Quinney, Frog Lake, 
  • Noah Golosky, Fort McMurray
  • Cera Goodin, Siksika
  • Lyla Potts, St. Albert 
  • Mason Griffiths, Athabasca 
  • Isabella Coderre, Calgary 
  • Marcus McDonald, Spruce Grove 
  • Drayden Laviolette, Lac la Biche 
  • Morning Song Stewart-Rabbit, Calgary 
  • Rowyn Mustus, Glenevis 
  • Harlee Young, Calgary 

More from News